Sew Grateful Week – reflections

sew grateful

Tuesday of Sew Grateful week is the day for reflection, on the role sewing has played in our lives, on those who have supported us and on the online community. As I am already a day late with this post, I’m going to keep this brief-ish (not my greatest strength…)

I am grateful that I live in a time (and place) that I can sew because I chose to, not out of necessity. I am not sure I would enjoy it if it were completely down to me to keep my family clothed… As it is I have found an outlet for creativity which I love and which has held my interest far longer than any other hobby or craft which has gone before. I mean, when it goes well you come out of it with something new to wear – what’s not to love?

I am grateful for my patient family who put up with pins on the floor, scrap trails all over the house and a fabric mountain that could topple and engulf us all at any moment. And they do so uncomplainingly. Usually.

I am grateful for the wonderful online sewing community for all the generosity, support and daily inspiration. Y’all make me want to be a better sewist.

I am grateful for my friends, who are constantly encouraging and also very generous with sewing related gifts!

And finally I am grateful for my Mum, Rosemary and my Grandma, Olive who taught me to sew when I was a wee’un. Growing up much of my wardrobe was handmade, courtesy of Mum and each year I would get a new (long) party dress courtesy of Grandma. Often I would wake up to find a new outfit for a favourite doll had been created during the night. That kind of thing can make you believe in magic.

My Mum and Grandma (1942?)

My Mum and Grandma (1942?)

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sew Grateful Week – reflections

  1. nx44 says:

    Great photo!

  2. I could have written that post myself. I’m so thabkful for the creative outlet sewing has given me, thank you for putting it into words.

  3. Nessa says:

    A lovely post! I really like the idea of waking up to a new dolls dress!

  4. Love that picture! I am so happy to have found a nice conmunity of people who like to sew…. No one does it around me

Leave a Reply

