Sew Grateful Week 2014: Giveaway

sew gratefulJust in case you have somehow managed to miss it this week is Sew Grateful week, hosted by Debi at My Happy Sewing Place. It is time for us, should we chose, to spread the love – and goodies – around the sewing community.

Today is giveaway day, so I thought I would throw my contribution into the pot.

sewgrateful_giveawayIn an unseasonable move I’m giving away Style 3156, a cute pattern for a tie top, wrap skirt and bikini from 1971. The pattern is size 12 (bust 34). I am also adding a couple of metres of this nautical print poly-cotton. (Not necessarily to use with the pattern – though you could probably squeeze the top and short skirt out of the yardage if you wanted to.)

If you would like to enter please leave a comment below. Let me know what you’re planning on sewing for Summer – or if your Summer is coming to an end, what are your winter sewing plans? I am happy to post internationally. Don’t forget to leave a way to get in touch if you win.

Also – don’t forget to pop on over to My Happy Sewing Place  where Debi has created a link party to other great giveaways.

Ooh – I’d better put in a closing date, I suppose – I’ll keep it open until Midnight on 2nd March (GMT).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sew Grateful Week 2014: Giveaway

  1. gccmom says:

    Awesome pattern. I hope to do some sewing for myself this summer. Right now, I am really struggling with my weight. I hope to be a size I would want to sew for by summer!

  2. Laurie says:

    That is SO cute! I am actually finishing up a cute 70’s summer dress for one of my girls. I would love that wrap skirt… They would love the whole darn outfit! And nautical prints are always fabulous…

    • rachsews says:

      It is cute, isn’t it – and maybe 20 years ago I could have pulled off the bare midriff look! The wrap skirt would certainly be a breeze to grade, so is suitable for the whole family! (And your girls would rock the top – I think it is crying out for gingham)

  3. Lauren says:

    The fabric is beautiful! And I would like to try out the pattern for summer 🙂

  4. Wendy says:

    What a wonderful give-away! Such a great pattern (especially the tie top) and such awesome fabric! I were to win this fabric, I would make it into a bag to transport my wetsuit and other sailing stuff!

  5. Amazing pattern, I love the tie bikini top!! And the fabric is cute too. I’m going to be sewing dresses this summer. And shorts. And the odd skirt and I probably need a jacket too. Let’s not pretend, my list for summer sewing is always much longer than the things I end up making!!

  6. Cecillia says:

    Great pattern and fabric! 🙂

  7. Maryall says:

    I have a VERY long list of projects for next summer: a Colette Lily dress, another Mathilde blouse, a nice Sorbetto top, another New Look dress in cotton, lingerie, a Grainline Moss skirt in denim, a pair of denim shorts, another Cowl neck top from so-sew-easy, a Plantain T-shirt, a Belladone dress, etc. I don’t think I can finish them all 🙂
    Thank you for an awesome giveaway!
    maryallhandmade (at)gmail.com

    • rachsews says:

      I wrote a few of my intended projects the other day. If I were to make one thing a week I would get through the list by the end of October, but it was by no means comprehensive. And I probably won’t manage a garment a week.

  8. Tara Gries says:

    Thanks so much for the giveaway, and for giving me hope that winter will be over soon!! =)

  9. Liz says:

    Great giveaway. Sadly I’m moving into the winter! But happily I’m planning on making a wool cape, lots lof lovely fitted dress to be layered with tights And cardigans and maybe another bomber jacket.thanks!

  10. Gjeometry says:

    Ahh, the tie halter top and the tie skirt are so fabulous! I love the nautical themed fabric, as well. Very appropo! My Sew Grateful Giveaway is up on the blog as well, please enter if there is something you are interested in! http://gjeometry.com/2014/02/24/sew-grateful-giveaway-how-about-some-red-and-some-threads/

  11. cathynd95 says:

    Lovely! Summer is almost here in Houston. We don’t have much of a spring. You can reach me at clconnors@sbcglobal.net

  12. macinic says:

    I love 70’s Style patterns!! Very under appreciated!! 😉 And adorable fabric!!! Thank you for hosting this Sew Grateful giveaway 😉

  13. Kat H says:

    Oh gosh, oh gosh oh gosh, look at that gorgeous fabric!!!! I may be in love…. *swoon*

    Sadly our summer is coming to an end. So I’m frantically sewing as many summer dresses as I can before the weather gets cold, coz I’m practical like that, haha! 😉

  14. poppyflowers says:

    Great fabric and pattern pick! Indeed very summery! I am planning to make some summer pants and one more high waist skirt!
    Thanks for giving us the chance to win them! :*

  15. Ooh – that fabric is awesome 🙂 Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  16. LOVE that fabric! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  17. Fantastic fabric and I do love 70s patterns. I can’t wait for summer! Thanks so much for the giveaway. Do you know, I hadn’t even given summer sewing a thought yet, but I think some beach wear might be in order and definitely some capri pants.

  18. jackienj says:

    I plan to make a swimsuit, i have never made one before. Wish me luck.

  19. Meri says:

    Great giveaway! This summer, I’m planning to make some dresses, in the hopes that if I had some, I might actually wear them, and a few fitted zip-up hoodies for the chillier nights.

  20. Colonel Hazard says:

    Awesome! This summer I want to tackle a multi-part playsuit, and that fabric would be perfect for it!

  21. Molly H says:

    The fabric is so pretty! I’ve been wanting to sew a bathing suit for a while.

  22. Pingback: Sew Grateful giveaway winner | Is it fitting?

Leave a Reply

