The Monthly Stitch March Challenge

If you are not a follower of the Monthly Stitch, the challenge for March is Miss Bossy Patterns, where we all chose a selection of patterns we have never used from our stash and put it to the vote which we should make up.

I have many, many unused patterns, but I have narrowed it down to:

New Look 6000

New Look 6000

New Look 6000 – which you may well know from the Frock Fests initiated by Winnie, and from her own fabulous versions. I have not yet decided if I would make this in a solid (grey or red), or a plaid…

2nd choice is:

By Hand London Victoria Blazer

By Hand London
Victoria Blazer

The Victoria Blazer. So many great versions of this. I particularly love this one by Sew Busy Lizzie and this one by Melizza at Pincushion Treats. I would probably make this in a solid coloured linen – either navy or black, but I have an idea for a little collar embellishment. (I would probably also make the longer length, rather than the cropped version).

Thirdly we have:

Named Patterns Dakota

Named Patterns
Dakota

The Dakota by Named Patterns. Seeing as I meant to join the sew along last year, and am still displaying the badge as if I did I think it would be a good thing to get this one off my queue. I’d make it in a solid purple ponte knit.

So, I am in your hands now. Please let me know which of these you think I should make up in March. I’m going to try to add a poll – let’s see how that goes – but please feel free to expand on your vote in the comments below.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Monthly Stitch March Challenge

  1. Laurie says:

    Frankly I think they are all great! I have a half made dress from pattern #1- lol… and I have the Victoria Blazer but have not used it quite yet! The only one I don’t have is the Named Pattern which looks great too! But I chose the blazer because I think it would be a very stylish basic item to have especially in linen. 🙂

    • rachsews says:

      When I started to write this post I had another dress in mind, but suddenly remembered that the Victoria had been on my to do list since the pattern first came out and thought I would put that in there!

  2. Despite the sew along I haven’t seen many Dakota’s online – So I voted for that because I think you would make an amazing Dakota 🙂

    • rachsews says:

      Thanks, Mel. From my POV the Dakota is a good choice as I already have the pattern traced and cut, which is the bit of this whole sewing malarky I always find truly tedious!

  3. My vote is for the Dakota, but I’m sure you’d make something lovely of all 3. Sometimes it’s just a matter of working out which comes first, isn’t it!

  4. Melizza says:

    You have three great choice. If you are after a fast, satisfying garment, go with Victoria. If not, go for the Dakota. Like the comment above mentioned, there’s not too many in blogland. Would be nice to see your version.

  5. My Sewing Suite says:

    I like both the Victoria and the Dakota but voted for the Dakota. Love the idea of it in purple and since it has been on your to-do-list I decided to help you along. They are both great choices, look forward to seeing what you make,

    • rachsews says:

      I look forward to seeing what I am told to make! The colour would not necessarily have been my first choice, but when I bought it there had been a load of blogs extolling the virtues of ponte fabric, so I wanted to try it out and the purple was on sale!

  6. sewbusylizzy says:

    Hmmmm all good patterns!! I always live a jacket – I’m rather obsessive about them!

  7. I voted for the Dakota as well because I haven’t seen many of it. I’m excited to see your make, whichever you happen to make, and it’s a close one! I nominated you for the Liebster Award! 🙂 More info on my blog! 🙂

  8. Gjeometry says:

    I went with Named Patterns Dakota. It just seems so versatile to me, can’t wait to see who wins! I have my poll up on the blog http://gjeometry.com/2014/02/13/help-me-obi-wan-kenobi/ Drop by and vote when you get a chance.

    • rachsews says:

      I have been over and voted (possibly twice – I looked the other day and could not remember if I had already made my decision…!)

      • Gjeometry says:

        Thanks Rach! I just responded to your comment on my blog. And, I have selected “no repeat votes” for my poll, so you would have only been able to vote once – using the same log on info.

  9. 1107nikki says:

    I’ve seen so few Named patterns made up, that the Dakota just has to win 🙂

  10. Chris says:

    I voted for the New Look – purely because I want to get that patterns too 🙂 But all three choices are great and I really think you should make all three!

    • rachsews says:

      I hope to get around to them all at some point… it would be great if I managed them all in March (and then could make them all again the following month for the TMS April challenge!). Is NEw Look 6000 on your USA shopping list?

      • Chris says:

        Exactly. Clipped Curves did a fantastic version of Newlook 6000, so that is top of my list. Trouble is, my husband can take only a few kilos 😉

  11. I love the New Look dress! It has that wonderful gathering at the waist.

  12. Kat H says:

    Oooh, hard choice! I voted for the Dakota, but it was a close call between that and the Victoria blazer!! (Looks like everyone’s having a hard time deciding, haha!)

    • rachsews says:

      Thanks Kat. We clearly all want to make all our options, so maybe a future MS challenge should be to make whatever came second in the voting! (though in a couple of months we’d probably all choose completely different patterns)

Leave a Reply

