Back in the saddle

I have been a bit naughty.

I had every intention of taking my poorly Janome to the sewing machine hospital, but when I went to the local shop in town advertising repairs I was told that “Pete is away while 8th October” (I think the use of the word “while” to mean “until” is peculiar to Yorkshire… do tell me if you know different). As this was on the 30th September I couldn’t even think that far into the future – and then the next place I looked at said repairs would take 7 – 10 days.

However, Sewing Machines Direct offer next day delivery, so yesterday this arrived:

Oooh - exciting!

Oooh – exciting!

I spent hours researching machines and looking at what they all had to offer. And I know that everyone says you should go into a shop and try some out, but I was too impatient to wait until morning and drive to a shop (late night internet – the curse of the purse!), so having nearly ordered a Husqvarna Emerald and having nearly ordered a Frister Rossman I finally decided that my entry level Janome had always served me well and that I would upgrade with a make I was already happy with.

(choral music swells)

(choral music swells)

And having had a day to try it out (although my family insisted on being fed AGAIN last night, eating – literally – into my playtime) I am really pleased with it. I didn’t want a load of fancy stitches I wouldn’t use, but I am excited to have adjustable stitch width at last (I see more knits in my future) and it does have a couple of decorative stitches I might try out some time. It will also, I have found today, sew through about ten layers of fabric without too much complaint!

So, I am a few days behind with my coat – I am going away this weekend and was hoping to have it finished before I went – but at least I am in a position to get on with it again (and have, indeed made some progress today)!

Oh – and I am sure you are dying to know what was in the bag beside the cardboard box, aren’t you (I mean, who doesn’t want to know what strangers get in the post?).

Free gifts with my purchase

Free gifts with my purchase

Mmmm… pretty colours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back in the saddle

  1. Amanda says:

    Hurray! Thank goodness! Get sewing that trench girl! I am cutting out my lining!

  2. sewexhausted says:

    Congratulations on your new “baby!” I did not want to go to the store and test machines either. I knew my favorite brands so researched and then found the best buy and ordered online in the middle of the night. Mine arrives Tuesday! I am already lining up the projects! Enjoy your new machine! ~Laurie

    • rachsews says:

      ooh – what are you getting? You must be like a kid at Christmas waiting for Tuesday to come around!

      • sewexhausted says:

        I am getting a Brother… and I realized it arrives Tuesday and I am off to work at a conference on Thursday all the way through Sunday so I will only have to 2 days to bond… And no sewing over our first weekend together! :/ BUT I am super excited and am getting a few projects cut so I can get right to it!

  3. Ali says:

    You are one lucky lady! And you must be going somewhere really special this weekend. Leaving your new Janome home alone must be heart wrenching!
    Looking forward to getting your trench coat updates back.
    Have a fab weekend!

  4. Amy says:

    Hmmm I didn’t think while was Yorkshire specific but I have spent most of my life life somewhere in in this county 🙂
    Congrats on your new machine. And the extra goodies!

  5. Wendy says:

    Congrats on the new machine. Maybe you can still get your old machine fixed and sell it second hand, or keep it as a spare in case your new one breaks down. Have fun on your weekend getaway!

Leave a Reply

