Poorly sick…

Not I, I’m happy to say. My poor little Janome had a bit of a breakdown yesterday. For some reason it has started skipping stitches. So I gave it a good old clean, changed the needle (twice), experimented with different tensions, rethreaded it, tried a new bobbin…. all to no avail.

I think I’m going to have to take it in for a service. I have had it for a fair few years now and it has done some donkey work in that time (including making the sail for the “largest (fake) viking longboat burning in the UK”, which was part of the Hadrian’s Wall Living Frontier celebrations back in 2009…) and the poor thing has never had a service.

Unfortunately it does mean that all sewing activity is suspended until I can get it sorted.

If anybody has any other suggestions of what I should be trying, please let me know.

I have plans, people, big plans and they do not involve me being sewing machineless!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poorly sick…

  1. oh, I hate when that happens:(

  2. Wendy says:

    You should take her to the sewing machine doctor and get her checked out! I’m sure he/she (girls can be doctors too) ‘ll be able to fix her!

  3. Amanda says:

    Nooooooooooooooo!! This can’t be true!

  4. nishi says:

    Oh no! I hope she is feeling better soon! I live in constant fear that my sewing machine is going to do just this, so I completely feel your pain… 😦

  5. Ali says:

    Oh No! Just when it was all coming together too.
    My mums machine chewed up a dress this morning and its’ foot pedal likes to go on its own!! I’m taking it into Brighouse tomorrow – not sure if that’s anyway near you but seen on your about page you’re from W Yorkshire. I previously took my overlocker to conways at Batley for a service but wasn’t overly impressed.
    Hope you get it fixed soon, let me know if you need the address of the place in Brighouse.

    • rachsews says:

      I am over in Halifax, but the guy on the market is away until 8th Oct, so I was thinking I might run it over to Brighouse… maybe I’ll bump into you there!

  6. Ali says:

    You might! You won’t miss me – I’ll be in a ambulance Respose car, and will be dropping off hopefully between call outs. It’s topstitchofbrighouse.co.uk where I’ll be taking it. Not sure if you’ve been – the lady who owns the shop told me about ‘her man’ who fixes machines. It’s worth a visit if you’ve not been before, not much choice of fabric but great haberdashery.

Leave a Reply

