Why I keep him around

I am fortunate enough to have a sewing room. It is small and overcrowded and frequently messy, but it is a Room Just For Sewing In, and I know that not everyone is lucky enough to have one of those.

In spite of having this dedicated sewing space, my cutting mat is in pretty much permanent residence on the dining room table and there is generally an ever changing pile of fabric on the piano. The ironing board is frequently set up on the first floor landing (or 2nd floor, if you are that way linguistically inclined – up a flight of stairs, anyway!*), you can usually find anything up to 3 pincushions, 2 pairs of scissors, a couple of reels of thread and a seam ripper on the living room mantlepiece and there are trails of pinked  fabric shreds all over the house.

And I have never once heard my other half complain. Or even suggest I could spread out less. Which is just one of the reasons he’s the man for me.

p.s. there will be no coat post tonight owing to extreme fatigue, but thank you all once again for your encouragement and comments. Hopefully I will be more up to sewing tomorrow.

* so do you have a ground floor in your part of the world, or is the first floor at street level?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I keep him around

  1. nishi says:

    Extreme sewing fatigue, I know it well! Giving yourself a break is definitely the only cure and inspiration always seems to strike then (often with a glass of wine)… The coat looks like it’s coming along extremely fast – I can’t wait to see the finished version (but not at the cost of your sanity!). My husband is also very patient with my sewing detris – even when there are pins in his foot! We are two very lucky people to have such laidback husbands!

  2. My Sewing Suite says:

    I am following your progress on your coat. I have that one my to sew list but have not started yet.
    You rare doing so well.

  3. Zoe says:

    How lucky you are to have a sewing room, I have a corner in my room, with my sewing machine perched on a bookshelf! My sewing stuff is all over the house and my parents are always complaining and asking me to move stuff, but the cat likes it, she always sleeps on the ironing board 🙂

    • rachsews says:

      I am very lucky to have a sewing room! My cats love all of the sewing stuff, too. One of them particularly likes to take all of the glass headed pins out of the pincushion and spit them on the floor, or ripping up pattern paper is another favourite pastime! (And they both like the way that bobbins move – I occasionally come across a little stash of them in a corner somewhere)

  4. Wendy says:

    My husband does the same thing, not complain about fabric/needles/sewing mess around. And my house is a bit weird, the entrance of our apartment is on the first floor of the building (= one flight of stairs) but my terrace is on the ground floor (we live in a steep part of town). So I have a first floor of both kinds. 🙂
    And good luck on the coat, but sometimes you just have to put it aside to start the next day (or even later) with fresh motivation! (Especially after unpicking a lot of stitches)

    • rachsews says:

      Hurrah for understanding husbands! Mine is so good at clearing up after himself that I am sometimes amazed at what he puts up with from me… Sadly I have always been good at putting things to one side when they are frustrating me – my problem is making myself pick them up again afterwards 😉

Leave a Reply

