Robson Trench – finished at last

First of all I wanted to share the news of my recent good fortune. About a week ago I opened my email to find a message from the lovely Louise over at A Make Parade telling me I had won a giveaway on her blog. The prize was a metre of the Liberty Tana lawn of my choosing, courtesy of Susan at Sewbox. Obviously I was over the moon; though I have been known to cop a sneaky feel of Liberty lawn when passing it in shops I have never managed to purchase any (I am still basically a learner and feel that I should not yet have moved on from training fabrics – e.g. those which cost under £10/m; preferably a lot under!), so I spent a happy 20 minutes choosing my prize. I ended up with this:

liberty liberty buttons

A metre of Takashi Pink, with a bonus gift of 8 cute buttons. I mean, though, how do you chose from all of the prints available. In the end I just had to stop second guessing myself and went with something which would go with other separates I already own (and some separates I own the materials to make). I already know what I’ll be making and I am really looking forward to working with this fabric. In the meantime, though, did you see what Louise did with her Liberty print? Go on – have a look now. Super cute way to refresh an old favourite!

Anyway – some of you might know that I have been working on a coat recently. And it is finished (except the hem could do with a good press!). Since my last post I spent the best part of a day sewing on the buttons, then removing the buttons and sewing them on in the correct place and generally tidying it up inside and out. I then wanted to finish it yesterday, but overnight someone removed half my brain and replaced it with damp sand, so I took yesterday off. But this morning all I had to do was to put on the belt loops and I was done.

After all the anticipation you would think, would you not, that I would make an effort with the pictures… yeah, right! Same old garden shots, I’m afraid:

Robson_finished_8It’s a miserable day. I still have sandpaper lodged behind my eyes and JB seemed to think he had better things to do than get rained on whilst taking pictures in the garden.

Robson_finished_7As you can see, I went with wooden buttons, after discarding my first ones. (The lady who runs the haberdashery on the market was quite taken aback: “you want 13? they are 55p – each!” she said – as if I might have thought it was 55p for the whole transparent box thingy. (a calculator was employed) “That is £7.15“. I don’t know what the average spend on buttons is in Halifax, but it is clearly considerably less that £7.15…).

Robson_finished_5As you can also see, I was not lying when I said the hem needs a good press.

Now, of course, there are things I am not happy with; my flaps could lie flatter, my collar could sit better, my sleeve caps could be smoother, my lining could line up better, my buttonholes could be neater… I think you get the message, but overall I am pretty pleased with the coat. It does look better in real life than in photos; in these pics it looks a much brighter blue and it also looks a bit lumpy in places.

And whilst the blame for all the imperfections firmly belongs with me, the credit for getting it made at all must be shared with everybody who has been kind enough to take an interest in my progress and add encouragement and advice in my comments. And I ain’t gonna list everybody, but a special shout must go to Amanda at Sew Deputy, who is making her own trench right now (and I had to get this one done first – I have a feeling Amanda’s is going to be so fab I would’ve been to embarrassed to finish this one had I seen hers completed beforehand), but also thanks to Beth, Ali, Lizzy, Jenny, Laurie, Wendy, Silvia, Catja and everyone else (get a grip, woman – you’ve not won a bleedin’ Oscar!)

Anyhoo – I suppose I’d better put up the compulsory lining shot:

Robson_finished_3And you can’t have a trench without styling like a gumshoe:

Robson_finished_2So there you have it. And now I am going to get on with the main business of the month. It’s Frocktober, people – I have dresses to make.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Robson Trench – finished at last

  1. Ali says:

    Looks fab! And if today’s weather is anything to go by your new trench coat will be getting lots of outings 😄

    • rachsews says:

      Thanks, Ali. Yes – I think I got it finished just in time (but maybe if I make shorts next the sun will come back out!?)

      • Ali says:

        Oh yes…shorts & vests, might get a mini heat wave in October.
        I’m off out tonight and wearing a dress I made a couple of weeks ago, when I told my mum she said ‘that’ll save you 1/2 an hour this afty then if you don’t have to make anything’. Made my laugh and thought of the comment you put about making something whilst the kettle boils…lol

  2. sewexhausted says:

    Oh the hat is the perfect touch to a great coat!!! It is marvelous and YOU made it! I am going to start tracing my pattern next week- BUT I do not think mine will go together as quickly as yours did! Nice job and the lining is most excellent as well! ~Laurie

  3. looks great, well done!

  4. Amanda says:

    Oh wow! It is fabulous! Haha, thanks for the mention but you were my inspiration! It would still have been sat in the ” ooooo I dare not even try to make that” bag! Anyway, it NEEDED to rain for your photos! ☔️☔️☔️☔️well done!

  5. sewbusylizzy says:

    Looks fabulous (including those fabulist buttons! LOL). I always think we are all so ready to see in flaws in our own creations but you know overall it looks fabulous – and hey! YOU MADE A TRENCH COAT!
    Congratulations – fabulous!

    • rachsews says:

      Thanks Lizzy. I did make a coat, didn’t I? And I do feel quite proud of that, for all it’s flaws.
      The funny thing about the woman in the button shop is that they weren’t even expensive. But she made me feel like I was being super extravagant!

  6. It’s great Rachel. The lining is fab. Well, done really. It’s not an easy project and you even added the lining. You’re officially ready for that liberty print! Congratulations. And thanks for listing my name in the Oscars award ;)

    • rachsews says:

      Thank you, Silvia. I’m planning on keeping it simple with the liberty fabric – there are some prints you can just leave to do the work on their own, and I want to see if I can achieve a finish I am really proud of (not to mention a single metre does not leave too much room for elaborate detail!)

  7. nishi says:

    Yay! You make the best gumshoe! This is SO awesome! The colour, the buttons, EVERYTHING is just perfect! Congratulations! I bet you feel a million dollars (pounds?) in it! :-)

  8. Wendyp says:

    Congratulations! It looks fabulous! And all the imperfections aren’t noticed by anyone!
    So funny your haberdashery-woman was disturbed by the amount you spend on your buttons… You should tell her that the divine is in the details!

  9. Gjeometry says:

    Woot, woot woot!! Gorgeous and so professional looking. Very impressive indeed!! Love the lining and your last pic. Authentic detective. :)

  10. This trench is amazing! I love the color! It looks amazing on you. :) Congrats on your loot! I’m jealous, I to try Liberty lawn fabrics, but I can’t justify the price. Oh well.

    • rachsews says:

      Thank you? I really wanted to make a coat in red or purple, but this fabric showed up on eBay at the right price (it was £25/about 40USD for a 10m roll including shipping, and I knew I wasn’t going to find anything else suitable at that kind of price… In fact that is less that half the price of 1m of liberty lawn – and I stil have over half of it left). I am looking forward to using my LL fabric – I would not have dared buy it myself!

  11. Pingback: UFrOcktober take 1 | Is it fitting?

  12. Pingback: Is it fitting?

Leave a Reply

